Years From Now- Shel Silverstein

Although I cannot see your face
As you flip these poems awhile,
Somewhere from some far-off place
I hear you laughing—and I smile.

This poem is the epitome of what good poems and good books make you feel. This is the epitome of what it’s like to find someone who loves the same books or poems you do. I wish I could find an abundance of words to describe better why I love this poem so much, but there is really no better way to say it. This is the connection between every book and poetry lover. Every fangirl and boy, every gamer, every comic book geek…this is the feeling that consumes you when you wear that Ravenclaw scarf, or Tardis dress, or Flash shirt, or slip a subtle reference into conversation and someone…maybe someone across the room, someone you’ve never seen or spoken to before nods in approval or compliments your outfit. This is why you can have the most comfortable conversation with a complete stranger on a bus when any other day of the week you’d just be hoping to disappear into the crowd or very far away from the crowd. When you have these moments, these things that you all appreciate together, suddenly you sense how not alone you are, how much of a community you have, even if you never seen it’s members. Suddenly, you can feel the thousands or millions of people watching just like you, laughing and crying and gasping all together, all at once, even if you’re oceans apart. This poem makes me smile because I know this feeling so very well, and I am glad to share it with everyone who’s ever felt it before.

P.S. Tomorrow we hit Z! can you believe we’ve made it to the end? I’ll be sad to see the challenge go, but I wanted to thank everyone who’s been following along and I wanted to do it here since tomorrow will cover several books and you won’t want a post script by the end of it. It’s been a wonderful April with you guys. I’ve had some great conversations and found some really interesting bloggers from this, so it really has been a pleasure. I was glad to have you all with me. Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under a to z challenge, books, comics, gamers, geeks, Harry Potter, life, movies, poems, thoughts, tv shows

Leave a Reply

