Vibes

I had to reread this story for this challenge, and I’m not sure I feel the same way about it that I felt when I first read it. It’s probably because I’m older and I don’t see things the same way, but it’s still a pretty interesting story, so let’s begin.

vibesThe story follows a teen girl at an alternative high school, who wears clothes she makes out of trash and old cloth and such. Her name is Kristi and she can read peoples thoughts. All around her people are thinking she’s fat and gross, and to make matters worse, Gusty Peterson, who she’s hat the hots for forever, always thinks sick when he looks at her. As a defense mechanism, Kristi hates everything and everyone except her cat Minnie Mouse. She wears tons of makeup, weird clothes and only hangs out with one guy, her friend Jacob who is always picturing her ginormous boobs in water. Kristi’s life pretty much consists of avoiding her workaholic mom, trying to ignore the thoughts of everyone around her, pretending she doesn’t like Gusty Peterson, complaining about everything, loving Minnie, and wishing after two years in Africa her dad would finally come back home. The a new guy named Mallory comes to school, and a school project forces Kristi to work with Gusty, and finally her dad does actually come back and Kristi quickly learns that she doesn’t know nearly as much as she thought she did about what’s going on in other people’s minds.

When I first read this book I loved Kristi simply because she was weird and different and I felt a sort of outcast kinship with her. Reading it now, however, I realize Kristi was a huge bitch. She was terrible to her mom for no real reason, she was rude and not to mention oblivious to what was really going on with her only real friend. She was so busy assuming the worst from everyone she couldn’t see how wrong she really was. Not to mention half of the stuff that happens to her is her own fault. That being said, I did still manage to enjoy this book, and I’ll tell you why. People around her actually call her out on her crap, and as the story progresses Kristi, herself, admits she was wrong and tries to makes things better. The most salvageable thing about this book is that the main character admits her flaws and actually tries to grow and change. At the end of the day, what I like best about this story is that none of the characters are perfect and nobody is given a pass when they do something really wrong.

1 Comment

Filed under a to z challenge, books, fiction, life, love, thoughts

One response to “Vibes

  1. Finding you for the first time on the V day of the #Challenge while out blog hopping from NC. Aren’t you pleased that you have made it to the end! I’m addicted reader and I know I have found a fellow book lover. I scrolled back and read Secret Life of Bees, which deserved its wide acclaim. If you have time or interest, I have been writing about hotels & inns, their architecture and architects, the setting where they are located. Hope to see you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

