Reflection- Shel Silverstein

Each time I see the Upside-Down Man
Standing in the water,
I look at him and start to laugh,
Although I shouldn’t oughtter.
For maybe in another world
Another time
Another town,
Maybe HE is right side up
And I am upside down.

At first glance this poem is silly. That is what first drew me to it. However, upon further reflection (no pun intended, but I’m amused it happened), this poem made me pause and think on what it was really saying.

Honestly, it still seems a bit silly, but it’s sort of a silly way of saying “try looking at things from a different perspective”. Like, imagine what people you’re judging are thinking of you. I know people who still refer to people with piercings and tattoos and freaks…and I always think, they probably couldn’t care less what you think but just for fun think about what they’d call you with your upturned nose and boring khakis…I don’t actually have an issue with khakis I was just trying to prove a point. To be fair, this goes back to the whole “don’t judge a book” thing and I really do find that saying pointless, but the actually meaning of the saying stands. Everyone is weird to someone. Everyone has someone they think is embarrassing, or should be embarrassed by how they look. Maybe I’m wrong and the poem really is just something silly, but to me it was surprisingly more once I looked a little deeper.

1 Comment

Filed under a to z challenge, fiction, life, poems, thoughts, writing

One response to “Reflection- Shel Silverstein

  1. Such a thoughtful response to the poem. I believe we see our true selves in the judgment of others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

