Just Saying- A Public Service Announcement

Take cover!

Take cover!

I have done pet peeves before, but it was mainly just my pet peeves as a book nerd. These are some pet peeves some geeks, myself included on a few of these, have about non-geeks and geek adjacents. I’m going to put them out there because you might be doing something and not even realizing it’s rude or annoying. So, just in case you didn’t know, here are some things that might be annoying:

  • Spoilers– This should seriously be a common decency thing. I mean, if I haven’t seen the latest episode don’t tell me what happened unless I’ve asked! And thanks for not at least saying Spoiler Alert when you post crap on Facebook or Twitter! Really? Do you know how upsetting it is to stumble on to an important plot moment that i haven’t made it to as I binge watch that show I never got a chance to catch earlier? I mean, sure maybe there are some things it should be absolutely shocking to find someone still has not seen or read, but that doesn’t give you the right to be rude when I’m sad you ruined an ending for me. There are some people who don’t mind spoilers, but the decent thing to do is ask.
  • Fake Glasses– This is more of a pet peeve i have as a person who actually needs glasses. I hate the fad of wearing fake glasses to look more…I don’t even know to be honest! Are you trying to look geeky/nerdier? Are you trying to blend in to your hipster brethren? Are you trying to look smarter? To me, you just look obnoxious. Glasses are not a fashion statement! My glasses are a necessity…I am literally going blind and now people don’t even believe I really need them just because the lot of you out there trying to look cool or whatever! It’s annoying. I don’t want to have to prove my eyesight is bad because people are wearing fake glasses. Seriously, knock it off.
  • Geek because chic– We all know what this means. You call yourself a geek now, but back when it wasn’t fashionable to dress and act like a geek, you weren’t “gaming” or “reading comics” were you? No, you are just following the trend, and you know what, after the trend has passed I’ll still be here nerd raging and you’ll be off bringing fedoras back or whatever it is that’s considered cool now. I don’t like fake geeks. I’m sorry but I have no respect for someone who just follows the trend. I’m not saying you aren’t allowed to find your geek and join the culture, I’m saying if you are only here because it’s become socially acceptable by the mainstream, get to stepping. You don’t belong here and you know what? All us real geeks know it. That’s why we don’t invite you to our parties…and our parties are awesome!
  • Book Haters– Okay, now I’m not talking about people who hate to read because I am a firm believer that anyone who says that just hasn’t found the right books yet. No, I’m about to nerd rage about something else. People who don’t read the book because they “saw the movie”…AHHHHHHH! NO, NO, NO! IT IS NOT THE SAME! *breathing deep* Okay, I’m sorry about that. But, this is the worst thing for me because then they have all these opinions and I’m just like, “you don’t know what you’re talking about, read the book.” And they are all like, “No, I don’t want to, i saw the movie.” And I’m just sitting here trying not to scream in their faces because they are being stupid and their entire argument is invalid because the movie got that part wrong but they don’t know because they are annoying and stubborn and like have you never read a book whose movie got some stuff wrong???? AHHHHHHHHHHHH! (Next year I might do this challenge solely about books)

Okay, I have official annoyed myself just thinking of these things, so i need to be done for now.

6 Comments

Filed under books, culture, geek, pet peeves

6 responses to “Just Saying- A Public Service Announcement

  1. The thing about not needing to read the book because someone’s seen the movie really annoys me. Especially when the film makes massive changes to things from the book.

    You should definitely do the challenge next year about books. 😉

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Like

    • geekylola

      I actually was thinking the same thing! I was writing F and thought…I could totally do next year just about books, and I even started figuring some of my letters, so you will definitely get your wish! 😀

      Like

  2. Yes, I hate the book-haters thing. And when people refer to something as just the movie
    ~Amy

    Like

  3. For me it is often the other way round, i don’t want to watch the movie because I’ve read the book… Of course it is nice to see the imagination of other people for real, but there is often missing so much, it leaves me dissapointed.
    I would love to read your next years posts about books! 🙂

    Like

    • geekylola

      For most movie adaptations I had to learn to accept that some things would be left out and usually I can be okay with that. But sometimes they ruin everything about a story I love and I can’t stop raging.

      Like

Leave a Reply

