All Things Geeky!

So, technically this is an introduction and those would start with the letter I but since I don’t think placing an introduction down at I would make sense, we are just going it put it here! For the rest of April, or at least 26 days of it, I will be telling you all about my geek life. Yep, all of you geek adjacents will get a little more insight into the world of geekery…geekdom…whatever, you know what I mean.

I decided to write about this because, even though my mother got me into the geek life with her love of Star Wars, that is also where her geek life ended. Mine, however, was just beginning and I devoured all the new geekery I could find. It was fine with me that as my mother’s geek life ended mine began…what didn’t sit well were the blank stares and the “oh, that’s great?”s I got as a result of nobody in my family or group of friends understanding what I was talking about. As a geek surrounded by people who don’t live the geek life, it get’s tiresome to explain what I mean when I say OTP, shipping, D6 or really any type of geek speak that those who have never been in the life don’t understand. I mean, do you know how hard it is to explain Doctor Who to someone who had never seen it? Maybe you don’t but it’s like impossible.

So, for the next 25 days I am your guide. Take my hand geek adjacents and let’s go on an adventure together. I will teach you about everything from languages to LARPing, from cosplay to the cosmoses. Of course I won’t get too far into any of it in case you start to get lost, but I will make sure that by the time this challenge ends you have at least the most basic of knowledge on all things geeky.

3 Comments

Filed under culture, Dr Who, family, geek, life

3 responses to “All Things Geeky!

  1. What an awesome theme you have for A to Z. Looking forward to more of it!

    2015 A to Z Challenge Co-Host
    Matthew MacNish from The QQQE

    Like

  2. Goodness, I can’t wait. I am ALL about the Geeky. Star Wars, Avengers, Firefly, you name it.

    Good luck with the 2015 A to Z Challenge!
    A to Z Co-Host S. L. Hennessy
    http://pensuasion.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. Um yes… explaining Dr. Who to someone who has never seen it is VERY hard and makes the explainer sound quite insane really.

    Like

Leave a Reply

