I Did It For Love

Alright, this weeks prompt: Tell the story of a robbery in the first person, from the point of view of the criminal. Have the criminal tell the story as if he were attempting to convince the reader that his actions were justified. This should be fun since I read it and instantly had an idea. I’m getting excited about these again and that means the ideas flow easier. So, I hope you guys enjoy.

Rich neighborhoods are the best, but they have nice security systems. So it’s best to choose the middle class, where the neighborhoods are in nice areas and people don’t think to set the alarms, not even when they go on vacation. That’s what my brother taught me. He was better than I am, and I am good. I didn’t want to be a thief, but it’s the best skill I have. I don’t ever take when people are home, I wait for vacation and then I go in. I don’t break anything, just pick the lock. And I never steal the big stuff, just small things that will give us enough money to get by. 

I’ve been scouting this house for a week. They packed enough bags to be gone all summer so I’m safe to go in any time. But it’s better to go in fast and get it over with, just in case. Doing this has taught me that people come home for many reasons and a lot of them are unexpected ones. That vacation sucks, things get cancelled. People are unpredictable so you have to expect the unexpected. But like I said I don’t do this for fun. 

The lock is standard for these ranch style houses. It gives easy. And just as expected, there is no alarm…this part usually is predictable. I walk in quiet anyway, these houses sit close together and I can’t wake the neighbors, can’t end up in jail like my brother. My mom and sister, they have no one else to provide for them. 

Yeah, I don’t do this for fun, I do it for them. My mother has been home bound half my life, she can’t work. Then my brother dropped out of school and tried to find a job but there wasn’t anyone hiring, not ever. He would steal things here and there then go looking for work, there was never anyone hiring. So he kept stealing, Then he taught me how to steal, pick the locks, only take small things you can run with in case of an alarm, and never get greedy, just enough to get us by. That’s all we ever took, enough to get by.

At first all he taught me was to take food, they had money they could always buy more. But we needed it, and people like them never gave to people like us. Then, when the bills started piling up he taught me to steal small but valuable. That was the rule, food until bills then small but valuable. We took for my sister’s new clothes and sometimes if there were children around her age we just took their clothes because they could just buy more.

The jewelry is always kept in the bedroom and I’m tempted to head there, but we don’t need money just yet. We only need food. I’m not greedy, I’m just trying to provide for my family, who wouldn’t do anything for their family? They have canned goods, these houses always have canned goods. Which is perfect because those don’t go bad. I’m almost doing them a service really, they would’ve left these cans in their pantry forever, never eating them. Their money would’ve been wasted on these. Now they just paid for my family to be able to eat for a week. 

I take only food, creep quietly through the house back out the front door. I lock the bottom lock again on my way out. At least I won’t leave their door wide open for other people to come and take anything and everything, because most people who steal only want more money, they are greedy and selfish. I only want to survive, to keep my fmaily surviving, and to not end up in jail like my brother. You can understand that, can’t you? Wouldn’t you do the same, if there was no other way?

 

Ta-da! All done, how do you like this one? I actually had a good idea of where to go with this one so I hope it turned out better than the last 2. Anyway I also wanted to add a little something extra to the end of this because this week is a special week. It’s House Pride Week on Pottermore and my job is to, as a Gryffindor on Gryffindor Pride Day (which is today), explain why I’m proud to be a Gryffindor. So here goes, I was proud to be a recklessly brave Gryffindor when I first got placed in that house. I thought, I belong in Ravenclaw, was I not smart enough? But then I was told what it really meant to be a Gryffindor. I was told Gryffindors are brave, yes, but they are also people who stand

This is me and I am proud of that!

This is me and I am proud of that!

up for what they believe in. They have a strong moral code and they will defend it. This is me…how can I not be proud of that? I will fight for what I believe is right, but I will admit when I am wrong. I and honest…perhaps to a fault. But i’m also loyal and kind. Yes, I can be proud to be Gryffindor if this is what it means.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Until next time thanks for reading.

1 Comment

Filed under books, geek, Harry Potter, life, love, thoughts, writing

One response to “I Did It For Love

  1. Always be proud of your house 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

