One Story a Week

This is my challenge to myself. You know how I’ve been trying to write more and everything? Yeah, well, it hasn’t been going so well and I remember a professor telling me it helps if I keep the creative juices flowing by challenging myself a bit. So, as I was stumbling around the internet after the post I not too long ago…posted, for you guys I found a list of prompts to use to write a story based off as a way of challenging yourself. Lucky me right? So for the next 9 weeks, since I just snagged 9 of the prompts off of the site, I will give you all one short story a week based off one of the prompts. If any of them seem like throw aways, feel free to call me out and I will come back and repost the prompt with a new and better story (hopefully). Here is a list of the prompts, keep your eyes peeled for them ok?

Also be ready, because I will start tomorrow!

Prompt list:

  1. There’s a 30-something lady sitting alone at a park bench reading a book. What is she reading? Why is she alone?
  2. Write about a character who wakes up to find that he/she is invisible.
  3. Pick an object – any object – in the room. Look at it for a minute or two, and then write something revolving around it.
  4. The beautiful colonial house was not what it seemed from the outside. What secrets does it hold?
  5. Tell the story of a robbery in the first person, from the point of view of the criminal. Have the criminal tell the story as if he were attempting to convince the reader that his actions were justified.
  6. Tell a story with an antagonist who gives a huge amount to a charity every month. What is the charity? Why does he do it?
  7. From the moment she opened her eyes, she knew things were going to be bad…
  8. He knew his neighborhood like the back of his hand, but he knew he’d never seen that bungalow at the end of the lane his entire life…
  9. The most beautiful smile I ever saw…
Leave a comment

Filed under thoughts

Leave a Reply

